Blood pressure stages

Did you know that there are five stages of blood pressure? In addition to “Normal,” we found four specific stages of hypertension ranging from “very treatable” to “urgent.”

People with a normal blood pressure range have between 90 to 120 systolic, and between 60 to 80 diastolic. A blood pressure reading of 120 to 129 systolic and less than 80 diastolic means elevated blood pressure and therefore a higher chance of developing hypertension.

The World Health Organization (WHO) defines hypertension as a condition in which the blood vessels have continuously elevated pressure. “Blood is transported from the heart to all parts of the body through vessels. Every time the heart beats, it pumps blood into the vessels. Blood pressure is created by the force of blood pushing against the walls of blood vessels (arteries) as it is pumped by the heart. The higher the pressure, the harder the heart has to pump.”

High blood pressure is a serious medical condition that can increase the risk of heart, brain, and kidney disease. It is one of the leading causes of premature death worldwide, with up to 1 in 4 men and 1 in 5 women suffering from the condition.

High blood pressure is known as “the silent killer” because it usually has no symptoms. However, a study published in the British Journal of General Practice suggests some of the symptoms experienced by patients with severe hypertension:

-Difficulty breathing
-Redness and sensation of heat
-Chest pains
-Changes in vision
-Blood in the urine
-Humor changes

Anyone over the age of 40 should have their blood pressure checked once a year. If you experience any of these symptoms, make an appointment with your primary care doctor as soon as possible.

Leave a comment